2 Jun

Year Two Success for the MPI Young Achievers Award

The eagerly awaited MPI Young Achievers Award returned to The Queen Elizabeth II Centre on 06 June 2011. Paul Cook, the creator of the competition and MC for the evening gives us his account of the evening:

Now in its second year, you could almost touch the atmosphere. It was electric. Even the students were excited but wow the competition between the various lecturers is something to see. The specially invited audience relaxed with a drink on arrival, the judges prepared themselves and the students bit their nails or chilled out in the Chaucer Room (which was the students’ room). In a simulated Dragons Den style competition the teams presented their proposals. They were acting as an event agency that needed to meet a brief provided by a fictional private company in the financial sector.

In the end the Leeds team led the judges very neatly to choose Lucerne. The prize for the students this year is a trip to that location. The girls were thrilled with that, just as much as they were with receiving a wooden cow as a memento of the competition.

The winning team from Leeds was made up of:

Christine Sears
Emma Heslington
Sophie Renshaw

On behalf of the MPI UK & Ireland Chapter, I would like to pay special thanks to the following: the teams for taking on a big challenge, the judges for judging, the lecturers for encouraging their students to become involved, to the specially invited audience for their support, to the Swiss Convention and Incentive Bureau for their sponsorship and to The QEIICC for their venue sponsorship.

The QEIICC and Leith’s were once again spot on in ensuring the smooth execution of the event. The AV chap on the night was a star. He had so much patience throughout and ensured that all presentations appeared at the precise time needed. This was no mean task especially when one presentation had video in it as well. So a big thank you to The QEIICC for a second time.

Judges were:

Nigel Glover – Takeda Pharmaceuticals Europe
Richard Parker – Zibrant
Amanda Edgcumbe – Powwow Events
John Denham – Vantage Point
Maggie Crompton UK Bank of HSBC

The other teams that took part came from:

Event School London
University of Westminster
University of Surrey
Sheffield Hallam University

Social share